Nobody’s Perfect

IMG_3315

Last week I officially became an initiated member of my sorority, and I couldn’t be more excited. I am so grateful that such an outstanding group of women has accepted me with my strengths and my weaknesses. I am especially grateful for the woman in my sorority that I have the privilege of calling my big. She has accepted me, despite my flaws, and let me tell you, I’ve got tons of them. Who doesn’t have flaws? No one in the history of ever was, or will be, perfect, because everyone has their own definition of perfect. Having said this, Elise is not perfect either, even though sometimes I think she is.

One day, we were talking about my blog, and she said to me that I should write about her. I think she meant it as a joke, but I would like to tell everyone about the near perfection that is Elise. She is a literal gem, and in the words of Elphaba and Glinda, “Because I knew you, I have been changed for good.” So here are some reasons that I am thankful for this lovely lady:

She wrote things for me in braille

It started with writing, in braille, my name on things using puffy paint, and continued with writing on other things like the Valentine I received from her during one of our sorority events. She even put things in braille on some of my craft week gifts.

She took time to make sure that I could understand my gifts for craft week

In my sorority, craft week is the week before our bigs are revealed to us. For five days, we receive gifts and clues from our bigs. She used puffy paint on literally every gift that she made me. If there were words on something, it was printed with puffy paint. (I do know what print letters are supposed to look like.) She clearly put a lot of effort into it, and there are not many things like that in life that I’ve appreciated more.

She accepts me for who I am

It is so important to have people in life that accept you for you, so much so, that they can laugh at you when you completely embarrass yourself. Correction: they can laugh with you when you embarrass yourself. She understands my messed up sense of humor about blindness, and I love her for it.

She is everything that I want to be, and more

This beautiful person is loyal, determined, intelligent, motivated, strong, brave, charismatic, and lots more adjectives that I don’t have time for. I’ve always wanted to some day be able to be described with such adjectives, and maybe one day I will be. But for now, she represents all of these things to me, and I admire the way she owns life.

I know very few people that would take the time to understand me and my life the way she has. I mean, who makes attempts at braille? Apparently she does, and I have no words. I am beyond lucky to be able to call her my friend, and I only hope that one day I can do something equally as meaningful for her. Despite all of these wonderful things, Elise is not perfect, and I think that is the thing I like most. Perfection implies that there is no room for improvement, but I constantly see her improving. And through knowing her, I’ve also seen improvement in myself.

Here’s something I’ve learned: Perfection is boring. I will not make it my goal to be perfect, Because what is perfection? I simply strive always to be better.  Although I often say that things are perfect, it is not true in the literal sense of the word. Nothing will ever be perfect for every single person, because perfect is only an abstract idea, a concept, one part of a whole that is greater than anything I could ever be capable of imagining.

One thought on “Nobody’s Perfect

Leave a Reply

