Planes, Trains, and Blind Drivers

252694_3792840873831_991173345_n 550615_3792836393719_1446914885_n

For the longest time, I’ve been obsessed with the idea of New York City and it’s surrounding areas. When I get bored, or I get a major Starbucks craving that no one can help me with, I get back to thinking how amazing it would be to live in NYC. Because even if their wasn’t a Starbucks on every corner, there’s a million forms of public transportation that I could take to get there. Not being able to drive is such a struggle.
Plus there is constant entertainment. From free shows, like observing the weirdos on the street doing weird things, to the more expensive, like broadway shows, I’d always have something to do, that is, if I felt like not being lazy. NYC is a great place. There’s the beautiful architecture, the incredible skyline, Central Park, all of which I can’t see. Now that I think about it, I’m probably not the best person to comment on the visual appeal.
And then I remember how the elevators in the subway and train stations smell like they’ve been peed in recently, and how traffic rules are basically ignored, and how some taxi drivers illegally ignore blind people, especially those with guide dogs, and I’m not so sure anymore. I am sure that I’m not very happy with where I’m living now though. It’s hard to live in a city where public transportation is minimal. The nearest bus station is a 10 minute drive from my house, which, given that I can’t drive, is not cool. The street that I live on has nothing surrounding it. There’s nowhere that I can safely and reasonably walk to. This causes me frustration when I want to go places on my own, or when I want to work my guide dog. Moving could solve my  problem, but it’s a pretty crappy investment when you’re away at school for 8 months out of the year. Plus,I don’t think my bank account would be ready. I cannot wait until self driving cars are a thing because I will be #AllIn like a true #Clevelander.
Never mind, my bank account is telling me that were going to have to ‘drop the ball’ on that investment since I decided to go to college.

Leave a Reply

