A Mid Summer Nights Dream

People always ask me if I dream.

I definitely dream. All blind people can dream. The human brain is not completely centered around vision.

A few nights ago, I dreamt I was in a music therapy session and forgot how to play guitar. No matter what chord I played, it sounded awful. Awkward moment when it wasn’t actually a dream…

Some blind people can see in their dreams, while others cannot. This all depends on when in life the person lost their vision. If they had vision and lost it along the way in life, then they have passed visual experiences to go off of in dreams. Those who were blind from birth, or became blind at too young an age to remember sight, do not dream visually. Their dreams consist of sound, feeling, and intuition.

I fall in to the category of people who don’t see in dreams. This isn’t weird for me though, as it reflects my every day life. I can’t see the world around me while I’m awake, so it wouldn’t make sense for me to see while asleep.

When I was little, I’d have dreams about being chased by monsters. I could feel the monster near me. I could hear it. And I just knew that it was a monster. I never saw it. My brain wanted it to be a monster, so a monster it was. I never even touched it, I just knew in my mind what it was.

Every day for the month of October, I will be posting something related to blindness for Blindness Awareness Month. If you’ve ever had a question, or been curious about something related to blindness, or even me in particular, now is the time to ask. Feel free to comment, message, email, or whatever you feel like, and ask me a question. Give me a topic.

Those who ask questions get farther in life than those who don’t.

6 thoughts on “A Mid Summer Nights Dream

Leave a Reply

