What is Black

“Do you see black?”

I’ve already touched on this in another post, but it’s important enough that I’ll put it out there again.

I do not now, nor have I ever, seen black.When someone who is sighted closes their eyes, they typically see black. Therefore, people just assume that blindness is a constant blackness. I guess it’s possible that some blind people do see black, however I, and many others that I’ve talked to, don’t.

I have never seen anything. I can tell if there are lights on in a room, but I’m honestly not entirely sure if I am actually seeing the light. Regardless, I have never seen objects nor colors. I have no idea what black looks like. Some people have speculated that I am seeing black and just don’t realize it because I have nothing to compare it to, but this is false. I once asked someone who used to have vision, and remembers what colors look like, if she was seeing black or nothingness. She told me that she saw nothing.

It is impossible for me to describe what nothingness is like. It is the one exception to the phrase, “seeing is believing.” Look at the air in front of you. Don’t look at the objects around you, just look at the air. The air is nothingness, and that is what I see. Now lay in bed all night thinking about that one.

Every day during October, I will be posting something related to blindness for Blindness Awareness Month. Feel free to ask me any questions that you may have because now is the time.

Try not to care what others think of you; that’s the only reason embarrassment exists.

4 thoughts on “What is Black

Leave a Reply

