Dancing Queen

Have you ever seen me dance?

If you have, I’m very sorry. I hope the awfulness didn’t cause you to go blind. And if you haven’t, I’m also sorry because you’re missing out on a really good laugh.

When I dance, people have told me to just feel and go with the rhythm because I have a good sense of it. I’m a pretty decent musician, so of course I have a sense of rhythm. That is not my problem.

Everyone grows up watching people dance. It’s in movies and on TV, it happens at parties, and in the theatre, and at school… Dance is everywhere. Yet, I have never seen it.

I understand that watching others dance doesn’t mean everyone will be good at dancing. Lots of my friends claim to be terrible. However, even though they can’t dance, they have an idea of what dancing is and what it looks like. For me, dance doesn’t make sense. I don’t have a concept of what dancing is. I know that people move their bodies, but I just can’t conceptualize dancing itself.

I can barely grasp that dance can express emotions, let alone the concept of entire ballets telling a story. None of it makes sense. I wish I understood it, but I’m not really sure how I could. I mean, I really don’t even know how to dance at parties and dances. I don’t know what to do with my arms, my legs, my body… my dignity. I’m afraid I’ll hit or run into someone, and I don’t even have the option of copying others. So when other people can see me perfectly, not being able to see them is not an advantage, trust me.

Every day in the month of October, I am answering questions and talking about things related to blindness for Blindness Awareness Month. Please ask questions! I will respect you more as a human if you put aside the awkwardness and go for it.

2 thoughts on “Dancing Queen

Leave a Reply

